For a friend…

Walking into a cold room
With nothing on my mind
I saw you sitting there
Among all the other faces

With a smile that could disarm an army
And eyes that spread warmth when looked upon
You had something within
Radiating, calling out to me

A budding friendship is what ensued
We were like two peas from a pod
As time flew by
We had become inseparable

Through the good times and the bad
You were the one who stood by me
I just can’t seem to forget
How you always smiled at me

It’s funny how the human heart works
The simplest of gestures can change everything
And just like a bolt of lightning
I was falling in love with you

Like any man in this position
I wanted my feelings to be known
Shuffling about and contemplating
And finally the courage to talk to you

Optimism and excitement
Built up like a crescendo
Brought down like falling timber
By your resounding rejection

Oh! through the good times and the bad
You were the one who stood by me
I never want to forget
How you always smiled at me

No matter what I did
I couldn’t stop thinking about you
No matter what I said
You kept pushing me away

Days of silence, seemed like years
We were now, bare ghosts of ourselves
After what seemed like a lifetime
I was blessed to hear your voice again

It was then I realised
What we had is what what others dream about
A friendship so pure
And undying love for each other
But now its all gone

Through the good times and the bad
You were the one who stood by me
I will never forget
How you always smiled at me

What do you think?